Deep South District of the American Rose Society Anita Smith Outstanding Service Award (2010-2024)

* Deceased

The "Anita Smith Outstanding Service Award" is given annually at the Mid-Winter Meeting for exemplary service to the District.

Anita, an original attendee at the first Mid-Winter Meeting in Bainbridge at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Reynolds, gave us her recollections of that first meeting at the occasion of the 25th annual Mid-Winter meeting in Tallahassee. Affectionately known as "Miss Nita", she attended most of the meetings until her death in 2009, only a few short weeks after she served as Chairman of Judges for the Greater Atlanta Rose Show.

She served as an organizer, supporter, and conscience for the Deep South District. Having served as District Chairman of Judges for twelve years, she was a leader in the true sense of the word. She is greatly missed by her rose friends.

2010	Ralph & Jean Stream	Micanopy, FL
2011	Phil* & Anne* Paul	Sarasota, FL
2012	Montine Herring	Whigham, FL
2013	Katherine "Kitsy" Mostellar*	Atlanta, GA
2014	Bobbie Reed	Lawrenceville, GA
2015	Earnest "Ed" Easom	Lutz, FL
2016	Jim & Kay Harrell	St. Simons Island, GA
2017	Mary Maud Sharpe*	Tallahassee, FL
2018	Karen Prevatt	Hernando, FL
2019	Sara Coleman	McDonough, GA
2020	No Award	
2021	Joanne Maxheimer	Thomasville, GA
2022	William Langford	Lake Worth, FL
2023	Sandy Dixon	Jacksonville, FL
2024	Glenn Schulman	Pensacola, FL